Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe


An independant agency of the United States Government charged with monitoring and encouraging compliance with the Helsinki Final Act and other commitments of the 55 countries participating in the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE).

Press Releases

Hon. Benjamin L. Cardin, Chairman
Hon. Alcee L. Hastings, Co-Chairman
For Immediate Release
May 20, 2009


WASHINGTON—Senator Benjamin L. Cardin (D-MD), Chairman of the Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe (the U.S. Helsinki Commission) and Co-Chairman Congressman Alcee L. Hastings (D-FL), welcomed today House Speaker Nancy Pelosi’s appointment of nine House Members to the Commission.

The appointments made earlier this week will return Congressman Edward J. Markey (D-MA) to the U.S. Helsinki Commission. Mr. Markey previously served from 1984 to 2000. Congressman Darrell Issa (R-CA) is the only new House appointee to join the Commission. Continuing their membership are: Co-Chairman Hastings, Representatives Louise McIntosh Slaughter (D-NY), Mike McIntyre (D-NC), G.K. Butterfield (D-NC), former Chairman Christopher H. Smith (R-NJ), Robert B. Aderholt, (R-AL), and Joseph R. Pitts (R-PA).

“I thank Speaker Pelosi for making these appointments. With a full slate of House Members officially selected, we are in a better position to address the many international challenges now on our agenda. From human rights and refugees, to global environmental and economic concerns, there is much to accomplish. I look forward to working with our new and returning Commission Members,” Mr. Cardin said. “The bipartisan work we will do to prevent human trafficking and stand up for free and fair elections will be stronger with our full complement of legislative members.”

“The experience and energy my colleague, Congressman Markey, will bring as he rejoins the Commission will be invaluable to us all. Congressman Issa’s demonstrated interest in international affairs is a welcome addition,” Mr. Hastings said.

The U.S. Helsinki Commission, which includes representation from the Departments of Defense, State and Commerce, looks forward to full membership being in place soon.

Earlier this year, Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid announced the Senate appointees. They include Chairman Cardin, Senators Christopher J. Dodd (D-CT), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Tom Udall (D-NM), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), former Commission Chairman Sam Brownback (R-KS), Saxby Chambliss, (R-GA), Richard Burr (R-NC), and Roger Wicker (R-MS).
Media Contact: Neil Simon
# # #


United States of America


Economic Cooperation
OSCE Institutions/Structures/Meetings
Trafficking in Human Beings


Recent Statements

November 2015

October 2015

February 2015

September 2014

December 2013

September 2013

Click here for the previous year's Statements